cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what STB to use for Pik TV?

frankw
Organizer

I have been using Optik TV for almost 10 years , recently got the fibre connection and it works pretty good.

My friend has recently started a new contract with Telus for internet and Pik TV.  Connection is VDSL in his area but fibre might be available within a year or 2.  He just watches Pik TV channels on his smartphone, but has a good non-smart Sony LED TV, 1080P, about 10 years old, now unused.

I think a good STB for him would be an Apple TV 4K 32GB, and it would be a big improvement to watch TV on a good TV as compared to a cellphone.  However these are around $229 (less $70 today on final day of Black Friday sale).  Are there any Android boxes that are much cheaper and work reliably for Pik?  He is a techno-klutz so I think Android might be too complex for him.  He has an Android phone and is able to use it, with frequent hassles.  Even worse hassles with his Android tablet!

I looked through the suggested Android boxes described elsewhere at Telus.com and most seem to have similar prices to the Apple TV.  Is the Telus-branded Pik TV box still available?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

WestCoasterBC
Community Power User
Community Power User

I have all the streaming devices. The android tv powered devices are my go to ones. Apple TV UI and especially the remote I’m not a fan of..

Top of the line android tv device is an Nvidia shield. More budget friendly is chromecast with android tv or a Amazon firestick 4K max or firestick 4K.

if you don’t mind some annoyance of Amazon skinned android tv, I would get the new Amazon 4K max (faster then their other two sticks and also supports Wi-Fi 6) or the chromecast with google tv. Both run without issue. 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

WestCoasterBC
Community Power User
Community Power User