cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I change my Telus Modem IP Adress?

NeedingAnswer
Neighbour

I am a newbie here, so I apologize in advance if I am in the wrong place to ask this question.  This year I have been getting hammered by hacking attempts, and recently some have been successful.  Among the list of a security consultant's recommended changes was to change my Telus Modem IP Address as well as my SSID.  I have already implemented a VPN service, but that is apparently not enough to close pre-existing "back-doors".

QUESTION:  How do I change my Telus modem IP address?  How do I change my SSID?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Nighthawk
Community Power User
Community Power User

This seems odd. How were people trying to "hack" you? Which attempts were successful and how did you know? Security consultant? Are you sure you have not been talking with one of those tech support scammers? Did you let anyone remotely connect to your computer?

The SSID is the name of your wireless network. Changing that isn't going to do much but it's easy enough to do. You'll also want to ensure you're using a strong, complex wifi password. See instructions.

Change your IP? Leave your modem unplugged between two to seven days. If another modem on the network doesn't pick up your IP in that time, you may still end up with the same one back.

If by some long shot one of the devices on your network is actually compromised, changing the IP or the wireless network name won't fix anything. You need to ensure all devices on your network are not compromised by malware by using well known reputable software. This goes for any Android devices as well as PCs.

If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like" or mark as an accepted solution if it solves your trouble. 🙂

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Nighthawk
Community Power User
Community Power User