cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem Connected over MoCA Bridge to Personal Router

hughboi
Neighbour

Hello,

I would like to bridge our homes T3200M Modem to a personal gaming router. However I have some confusion with how my roommates Telus Fibre Internet home setup affects this. Here's the internet wiring situation: ONT box in basement sends copper signal to MoCA adapter that connects to house coaxial which goes upstairs. On the second floor this coaxial comes out of the wall to a second MoCA adapter that converts back to ethernet and goes into the T3200M modem which acts as the current router as well for the house. We would like a better WiFi experience with my personal gaming router, so I imagined I could simply enable bridge mode on the T3200M and plug in my router to port1. I am new to using MoCA so I have a couple of questions:

1. Is the upstairs MoCA necessary if it is just being used to connect to the T3200M, which apparently has onboard MoCA capabilities? My roommate said it was necessary for fibre setup, but I'm doubtful.

2. Will this work with the ethernet from the MoCA upstairs going into the WAN port of the modem that I want to flip to bridge mode? My understanding is when bridge mode is on only port1 works? So how do I set this up with these MoCA devices going into the modem? Is still as simple as bridge mode on then ethernet cable in port1 to my gaming router?

Thanks,

Hugh.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@hughboi Wrote: When I turn on port bridging and connect my router should I be able to see it in the "Home Network" view on T3200M of connected devices?

In most cases if you have "Bridged Mode" turned on your T3200M you'll not be able to get to the routers web interface. The only way to correct this is to reset the T3200M back to factor/basic mode to get t the interface.