cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can an offer price be honored if it’s not written down?

Fartgoblin1999
Friendly Neighbour

My situation is (kind of) resolved, however I wanted to share my cautions. I have some background in business/contract law (although your rep on the phone kindly suggested that I’d never read a contract before lol) but I’m not an expert…however I do believe everyone deserves to be treated fairly by their phone company!!

The Telus team will consistently tell you that the best place to go is the written contract that you signed. Often true, however, verbal contracts CAN also be binding. If you sign in store for $15 , but you are told $10 by the sales rep on the phone AND the sales rep in the store, as well as the reason and cost breakdown for the difference, AND you have a witness to the verbal contribution in the form of another sales rep or customer in the otherwise empty store… that’s a binding agreement.

In my case, I was offered a price by a rep on the phone which was confirmed by the rep in store. This was not written as the price depended on them honoring a credit from a very recently cancelled account. It was reasonable that it would not appear on the contract for that reason: even I can’t pull up the details or credits of the cancelled account. The price matched what was given to me on the phone by the customer service agent. Each time the price appeared in the contract, I questioned the sales rep. $15? Don’t you mean $10? Yes, after the credit was applied. There was a witness in the store in the form of another sales rep. I know verbal agreements are also binding. I signed.