cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NAT 2 on Cellphone, NAT 3 on Smart HUB?

PotatoFarmer
Organizer

Disclaimer: I am an Industrial PLC Programmer / Network Technician.

I bought a Telus smart hub for internet in a rural location. I know in the disclaimer they say that it cannot be used for P2P gaming.

But I do wonder the actual technical reason for this? Was someone just having a bad day and forgot to check a check box in the configuration, or too proud to go back and fix the issue?

I have a iPhone it gets the same db of lte signal the smart hub gets, its on the same APN as the hub, it is connected to the same tower verified by going into tech mode on the phone.

I am able to get a NAT type 2 off the iPhone hot spot no issues, I can P2P game off the iPhone like its going out of style.

The hub on the other hand gets strict NAT type 3. I have read online if you go to 4G only mode it will do NAT type 2, will be testing this method soon.

I do not see the reason for the strict NAT 3, since the signal and connected tower are the same. Is the imei locked ZTE the junk in the chain?

I read in these forums that the justification was running out of public ip's. This has nothing to do with it. If my dynamic addressed iPhone can get NAT 2 so should the hub, there are a whole lot more cell phones than there are these rural smart hubs.

With Starlink on the Horizion, and litterally over my head, this NAT issue is one that would make me go to Elons futurist service as soon as it is available in Canada.

I already found a hardware work around to Telus' tethering block on "unlimited data" and the lower 500kbps speed still allows me to play online with the iPhone, so i can P2P like it is 1999.

But it seems weird to have to hotspot the iPhone to game, when I am paying for a dedicated internet service for the house, off the same tower.