cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to upgrade my Router...

Brandvan3000
Just Moved In
Hi, I'm looking to upgrade my T3200M wifi modem (supplied by Telus) to a TP Link Archer C5400X. I'm a twitch Streamer and Avid gamer so im trying to maximize my internet upload and download speeds as well as make sure the internet stays stable for my roomates.

What I'm wondering is if I should purchase a modem with it? The T3200M has a DSL 1 and 2 slot and I believe the C5400X doesn't? Could I just connect the C5400X to the the T3200M or would that cause bottlenecking issues? If I do need a modem what would you guys recommend?

Thanks for any help, I'm new to trying to upgrade this kind of stuff so any help/guidance is appreciated!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Nighthawk
Community Power User
Community Power User

Finding a compatible third party modem is very extremely difficult, especially for a bonded connection. You can easily plug your router into one of the gigabit LAN ports on the T3200 though. I've done that before without noticing any issues. If you have Optik TV you will want to still run the Optik boxes direct to the T3200.

If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like" or mark as an accepted solution if it solves your trouble. 🙂

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Nighthawk
Community Power User
Community Power User

Finding a compatible third party modem is very extremely difficult, especially for a bonded connection. You can easily plug your router into one of the gigabit LAN ports on the T3200 though. I've done that before without noticing any issues. If you have Optik TV you will want to still run the Optik boxes direct to the T3200.

If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like" or mark as an accepted solution if it solves your trouble. 🙂

Very easy to upgrade to a better router .I use a hp server with Pfsense on it and a 48 Port 10GB switch no problems 

Someone9
Friendly Neighbour