cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bridging ASUS RT-AC86U to Telus Actiontec T3200M

lucky6877
Organizer

Hi All,

First of all, Happy New Year 2020 to all of you and thank you very much to all of the wonderful contributors in keeping this forum going!!

I just bought ASUS RT-AC86U router yesterday and that plan is that I want to use it as a primary router for wifi and keep the Actiontec T3200M connected as a mode and linked to my optic tv via ethernet.

How do I go about doing this?  I am new to bridging and I was hoping if there is any beginners guide with screenshots etc..?

Also any other considerations for me before I start doing this?  Any known issues to be aware off in advance?

Thank you very much in advance for any help or guide, I want to ensure I get this right first time, hopefully without any major issues.

I have telus fiber 150.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@lucky6877 I have the exact same set up on my home network.

Firstly, you should read the discussions on the latest firmware releases for the RT-AC86U and decide if you want to upgrade/downgrade the firmware. The last 2 releases had problems. I've rolled mine back to 45713 due to stability issues.

release 3.0.0.4.384_45713 (good)

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-rt-ac86u-firmware-release-3-0-0-4-384-45713.56171/

version 3.0.0.4.384_81049 (not good?)

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-rt-ac86u-firmware-version-3-0-0-4-384_81049.58377/

version 3.0.0.4.384_81351 (not good?)

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-rt-ac86u-firmware-version-3-0-0-4-384_81351.60206/

No, you don't need to put the T3200M in bridge mode. You need to do the following:

1. Turn off the WiFi on the T3200M to reduce interference with your Asus router.
  2. Connect the Asus router WAN port to one of the T3200M LAN ports before you power it up.