New 4K PVR - HDCP Error Through Denon Amp

Syaoran
Ambassador

I'm guessing the Telus 4k box auto senses the input, which the receiver is triggering it to be better than the TV?  Some receivers do allow you to set the input compatibility of specific HDMI ports.  Both  of my Onkyo receivers allow me to set the capability or limit specific ports to 1.4, 2.0, and 2.2.  If your receivers lack this function, I would say the best solution for those willing to spend a little money to get the best picture quality, would be to look at HD Fury pridocts and go for something like the Linker.  If put between your AVR and your TV, it will take that ridiculously compressed 4k signal that is nothing close to true 4k and downscale it to 1080P, giving you better picture quality on a 1080p TV over all.  

Highlighted
Phud
Resident

It is absolutely a  Telus PVR issue and NOT an issue with the Denon REceiver/Firmware.. I am a Pro A/V Contractor and I have experienced this issue (only with the 4K Box) on Yamaha, Denon, Onkyo, Pioneer, and other receivers. In all cases the receivers were new and all but 1 TV were new 4K UHD units. I have wasted so much time on this.

I am stuck in a loop. Telus will not admit there is any issue as their box works fine plugged directly into the TV, and they "don't support systems".. and the receiver manufacturer's have shown that it is not their issue as every other input device works flawlessly with the same HDMI cable and input. I have spoken to a couple of installers locally and they both admit privately that they have seen this as well.