Kodi Blocking on Home Network

This thread's discussion is locked. If it doesn't give you the information you need, head to its forum board for active discussions or to start a new discussion.

jdowsett
Advocate

Is there any articles on blocking the live tv / streaming functions of Kodi?  I realize this is maybe an addon by addon problem.   Anyone tried yet?

Community Power User
Community Power User

I've never done live TV with Kodi before. I've streamed content from my NAS before though on it without issue. Are you using the basic Actiontec or do you have your own router? (Easier with own router) I have my own router that I'm using for it connected to the Actiontec. 

If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like" or mark as an accepted solution if it solves your trouble. Smiley Happy
Community Power User
Community Power User

Easiest way would be to block the actual IP of the website it connects to via the modem. (essentially the addons just scrape web pages for links) If it's your own Kodi device you control what addons are placed on the device. You can use the built in parental controls of KODI to limit addons as well. Plenty of guides floating around the net for it.

I just use my playon server and roku to stream my backed up content of blu ray and dvds

Find a post useful, please click on "Like" to give the author recognition or mark as an accepted solution.
xl CPU Alum
CPU Alum

If it's an issue.... uninstall the software.

With VPN usage... it's hard to block an IP.

Community Power User
Community Power User
The servers ip don't change. VPN won't circumvent that. Most those so called addons maybe use 20-30 url

Find a post useful, please click on "Like" to give the author recognition or mark as an accepted solution.
Highlighted
jdowsett
Advocate

thanks everyone I managed to get the urls blocked on the action tech for most of the scrapers.    It took it down to a dull roar and will always be a bit cat and mouse but will do the trick for now.