cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WPA2 Key Reinstallation Attacks (KRACK) Vulnerability.

curtis_
Neighbour

Good day all!

I work in the WiFi industry and I'm also a Telus residential Internet Customer. I also have several family and friends who use Telus residential Internet, and their security is important to me.

I would like to know how Telus plans to address the WPA2 Key Reinstallation Attack (KRACK) WiFi vulnerability announced on 16 OCT 2017.

The following links detail the attack (first link) and a list of vendor responses (second link).  

Among the list of vendor responses, Actiontec (The routers used by Telus) has no information.

https://www.krackattacks.com/

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/list-of-firmware-and-driver-updates-for-krack-wpa2-vu...

I realize there will not likely be an immediate solution, but I would like to know; what is the timeline for installation of security updates on the Actiontec routers provided by Telus?

curtis_

21 REPLIES 21

Nighthawk
Community Power User
Community Power User

I'm sure once a fix for the WPA2 protocol is out that the router firmware will be updated. Since it just came out it's hard to say how long it'll take to fix.

The vulnerability is also client side as well. Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Linux etc. All sides will need patching, especially Android 6.0 devices as they are especially vulnerable.

If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like" or mark as an accepted solution if it solves your trouble. 🙂

Thanks for the response Nighthawk.  Device patching is straight forward since the user controls the device.  I'm more interested in the devices the user doesn't control.  What makes you sure the firmware will be patched?  I've been looking for a Telus residential maintenance schedule that customers can access, but I haven't been able to find anything.