Port forwading not working

This thread's discussion is locked. If it doesn't give you the information you need, head to its forum board for active discussions or to start a new discussion.

YYCGuy
Connector

I am trying to forward a port for the purposes of using Wake-on-LAN remotely. Try as I might, I cannot get a port to open so it is seen by any one of the many online "open port checking" tools.

This is my first time trying port forwarding, so please be kind in your replies as I am a beginner. Here's what I did, I suspect it may even be too much and/or not secure?

(1) Using the built in Windows (7) Networking tools, I created a static IP for my PC's network adapter. This looks fine.

(2) On the router, I added that same static IP to the DHCP Reservation Table. This also looks fine.

(3) I tried to forward a few random ports (I am aware of the ports Telus has closed). Using a tutorial I found online, I used the same port number 4 times for each port - WAN Start/End and LAN Start/End. This doesn't sound so fine to me but I couldn't find another guide.

(4) Based on previous posts I've seen on the community, I disabled IPv6 for LAN and WAN and set the firewall for NAT only.

(5) I opened the same ports on Windows Firewall (is this even necessary?)

Despite all this, my chosen port appear closed externally. What am I doing wrong? Any help or guidance is much appreciated.

YYCGuy
Connector

Sorry, should have mentioned router is an Actiontec T3200M.

Community Power User
Community Power User

And the port you wish to forward is.....?

NFtoBC
If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Like"
YYCGuy
Connector

my little Android WoL app defaults to port 9 but documentation states it can use any port. So 've tried 9 on the router, also 48, 3074 on router and app, no joy. Just random port numbers.

DeanD
Coach