cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving my modem

Brevity
Neighbour
I need to move my modem to a more central location in my home because neither my pc nor my Xbox are able to connect to the network and our phones barely have any WiFi signal in our living room. I tried just moving the modem and plugging into the most central jack but it looks like there is a pots splitter(I think that's what it's called) and when I pulled the jack out of the wall to investigate it turns out it's completely disconnected. Do I really have to schedule a service call for this? I'm new to Telus and I'm really not pleased. It's 2018. I shouldn't have to schedule a house call to move a modem.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

NFtoBC
Community Power User
Community Power User

You don't have to schedule a tech visit; there is no prohibition of you doing it yourself, or having an electrician of your choosing do the work. It is SIMPLER to have Telus do the work, as they have access to the point of demarcation, where the Filter (POTS splitter) is located, and they can easily switch the wires to include the new location you wish to place the modem.

You could also get a Boost Wi-Fi extender to cover dead spots in your house.

NFtoBC
If you find a post useful, please give the author a "Kudo"

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

NFtoBC
Community Power User
Community Power User

You don't have to schedule a tech visit; there is no prohibition of you doing it yourself, or having an electrician of your choosing do the work. It is SIMPLER to have Telus do the work, as they have access to the point of demarcation, where the Filter (POTS splitter) is located, and they can easily switch the wires to include the new location you wish to place the modem.

You could also get a Boost Wi-Fi extender to cover dead spots in your house.

NFtoBC